Orange Cap winners

Reading Time: 3 minutes


This post is about Orange Cap winners who is presented to the leading run scorer in the Indian Premier League. Lalit Modi said of the initiative, “Cricket is often remembered and recorded as statistics and not by material distinctions. The DLF Indian Premier League will create a distinction for the best performing batsman which will be cherished and valued by each player through this initiative. The purpose of this initiative is to be innovative and create another unique piece of history that sets the DLF Indian Premier League apart from the crowd and to reward outstanding achievements by the players.

Orange Cup

David Warner (2015, 2017 and 2019) has donned the Orange cap most times in the IPL, followed by Chris Gayle (2011 and 2012). 

Rules for IPL Orange Cap

  1. The award is given to the leading run-scorer of the IPL season.
  2. The batsman with the most runs in the tournament during the season would wear the Orange Cap while in the field.
  3. In case of a tie, the batsman with a better strike rate is awarded the Orange Cap.
  4. The Orange Cap owner who is fielding is allowed to wear the Orange Cap till the end of the innings even if an opposition batsman has overtaken his runs.



Australian batsman Shaun Marsh from Kings XI Punjab was the most consistent batsman of the season as he helped his side reach the semi-finals during the IPL 2008. He emerged as the leading run scorer of that season with a total of 616 runs in 11 matches. 


Matthew Hayden from Chennai Superkings emerged out as the Orange Cap winner of the 2nd season of IPL as he scored the total of 572 runs from 12 matches.

The Aussie opener registered 5 half-centuries and had an impressive average of 52.00 in the tournament.


Sachin Tendulkar from Mumbai Indians in 2010 took his team to the final but unfortunately his team got defeated by Chennai Superkings . He ended the season as the leading run scorer from with 618 runs in just 15 matches.


Chris Gayle won the Orange Cap award during the 4th season of IPL. He was initially not picked in auction and then due to injury to one of pace bowlers of RCB; RCB signed Gayle later in season .

He scored a total of 608 runs from 12 matches which helped him win this award.


Chris Gayle became the first player in the history of Indian Premier League to win the Orange Cap for two consecutive years. He achieved this feat during the 4th and 5th editions of IPL.

Gayle aggregated 733 runs in that season and this was his best ever tally in an IPL season. The Jamaican also smashed 59 sixes in the 2012 season of IPL.


Michael Hussey was awarded the Orange Cap for his batting performances. Hussey emerged as the leading run-scorer from that season with the total of 733 runs from 16 matches.


Robin Uthappa from KKR emerged as the leading run scorer with a tally of 660 runs in 16 Matches with strike rate of 137.78.

He smashed 74 boundries and 18 maximum.


Aussie batsman David Warner scored total of 562 runs and  became the leading run scorer of the 8th edition of IPL which gave him his first Orange Cap award in IPL.


Kohli currently holds the record of being the highest run scorer in a single season of IPL which he achieved in the year 2016. Kohli scored 973 runs from 16 matches that season which is by far the highest by any Orange Cap winner in IPL.


David warner has won the Orange Cap thrice in the history of IPL. He won the orange cap for the second time in the year 2017 after scoring 641 runs in the 10th season of IPL.

However, his team failed to lift the trophy that year as they were eliminated in the play-off stages of the tournament.


Kane Williamson  became the first New Zealand player to win the Orange Cap when he won it in the year 2018.

He scored 735 runs from 17 matches at an amazing average of 52.50. He did so with at a blistering strike rate of over 170. 


David Warner scored 692 runs from 12 matches with an average of 69.20.He was coming back after 1 year of subspension by cricket Australia due to Ball tampering in Capetown test.

He also hit 57 boundries and 21 maximum in IPL.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: