Kings XI Punjab Logo

Kings XI Punjab

Spread the love
Reading Time: 3 minutes

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) is a franchise cricket  team based in Punjab that plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The Kings XI Punjab catchment areas are Jammu & kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab and Haryana evident from the letter sequence “K J H P H” in the banner of the team’s logo.


Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) owner:

Kings XI Punjab was bought jointly by Mohit Burman (Dabur group ) ,Ness Wadia (Wadia group), Preity Zinta and Saptarshi Dey (Dey & Dey Group). Total $76 million was spent to acquire the franchise.

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) Home Ground:

Kings XI Punjab plays its home matches at the  PCA Stadium ,Mohali. Franchise also plays some of their home games at either HPCA Dharamshala  and Holkar Stadium Indore .

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) Jersey:

Franchise official Jersey is of Red colour T-shirt with lion imprinted on front with white trousers. 

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) History:


Yuvraj Singh was appointed as Icon Player and captain of this franchise. They were Powered by balanced bowling line-up like Irfan Pathan, S. Sreesanth, Brett Lee, Piyush Chawla. They lost initial 2 matches and after that team won nine of its next 10 matches clinching a berth in the semi-final. In semi Final they were beaten by Chennai Super Kings.

Shaun Marsh finished tournament as the Orange Cap holder.


Team started tournament badly by losing against Delhi Daredevils and  Kolkata Knight Riders . They returned to form by beating Royal Challengers ,Rajasthan Royals and the  Mumbai Indians . Team witnessed a roller-coaster ride in their next eight matches with 4 wins and 4 losses. Team missed semifinal birth by losing against CSK.


Team ended in the last position in Table in 2010.


Michael Bevan was appointed as coach and  Adam Gilchrist  was appointed as captain this year. They missed out on the play offs by two points and finished 5th in the points table.


Kings XI Punjab finished in 6th place overall winning 8 matches out of 16.


Kings XI Punjab failed to qualify for the play-offs this year. Adam Gilchrist retired after this season.

This season is remembered for David Miller 101 off 38 deliveries which included 8 fours and 7 sixes. He walked in at  51–3 while chasing a target of 190. Miller finished the match in 18th over itself.


George Bailey was appointed captain for this season. Virender Sehwag , Glenn Maxwell  and  Mitchell Johnson were also some big names which got added this year. Kings XI Punjab started tournament by winning their first five games in Dubai. Team qualified for the playoffs. Virender Sehwag scored 122 against Chennai Super Kings in Qualifier which led their way to the final.

Kolkata Knight Riders batted first and set target of 199 owing to  Wriddhiman Saha 115. Manish Pandey 94 off 50 balls and Piyush Chawla 13 off 5 balls, KKR became victorious.

2014 CLT20

Kings XI were placed in Group B along with the  Hobart Hurricanes  (Australia); the  Barbados Tridents  (West Indies); the  Cape Cobras  (South Africa) and the  Northern Knights  (New Zealand).

They were knocked out of the tournament at the semi-final stage with a disappointing defeat against their IPL rivals Chennai Super Kings,who went on to win the tournament.


George Bailey continued to lead the side during the 2015 season. The team won just three of the 14 games and finished 8th in the league. David Miller finished the season as top scorer with 357 runs and Anureet Singh finished the season as the top wicket taker with 15 wickets.


David Miller and Murali Vijay captained the team in the first and second half of the 2016 season. The team finished eighth once again with only 4 wins. Murali Vijay was the top scorer with 453 runs and Sandeep Sharma was the top wicket taker with 15 wickets.


Virender Sehwag joined as head coach as the team looked to recover from two back-to-back last-place finishes in the league. Glenn Maxwell was appointed as the captain.

Team missed out on a place in the play-offs by a last game defeat to the  Rising Pune Supergiant  and ended the season on 5th place. Hashim Amla finished the season as top scorer with 420 runs including two centuries, and Sandeep Sharma was the top wicket taker with 17 wickets.


Ravichandran Ashwin was appointed as captain and Brad Hodge was appointed as coach. Big Player likes of Yuvraj Singh ,KL Rahul ,Aaron Finch and  Chris Gayle were part of team.


Kings XI Punjab ended up in 6th position in the league table. KL Rahul was the highest run scorer with 593 runs in 14 matches.

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) Squad 2020:

Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Sheldon Cottrell, Ishan Porel, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Arshdeep Singh, Hardus Viljoen, M Ashwin, J Suchith, Harpreet Brar, Darshan Nalkande, Glenn Maxwell, James Neesham, Chris Jordan, Krishnappa Gowtham, Deepak Hooda, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, KL Rahul (C), Nicholas Pooran, Prabhsimran Singh

1 thought on “Kings XI Punjab”

  1. Pingback: Orange Cap winners - CricBlogg

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: