Delhi Capitals

Reading Time: 2 minutes
Delhi Capitals Logo
Delhi Capitals Logo

Delhi Capitals is a franchise team based in Delhi which plays in Indian Premier League. It was founded in 2008 as Delhi Daredevils which has been later renamed  to bring change in fortunes of Team performance as they are only team who have never appeared in an IPL final.

Delhi Capitals Owner:

Franchise is jointly owned by GMR and JSW Group . 

Delhi Capitals Home ground:

Team play their home matches in the  Arun Jaitley Stadium  located in  New Delhi .They also have the modern  Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur  as their second home ground.

Delhi Capitals Anthems:

“Khel Front Foot Pe” was first anthem which was sung by Kailash Kher. Franchise  launched their new anthem “Munday Dilli Ke” in 2012. In 2016 season of IPL , “Dhuandaar Dilli” was released which was sung by  Sukhwinder Singh. In 2018, they released yet another theme song, titled “DilDilliHaiDhadkega“.

Theme song for the 2019 season for franchise was “Roar Machaa“.

Delhi Capitals Jersey:

Jersey main colour remains blue, similar to the blue of the Indian cricket team’s One Day International jersey, with a fair bit of orange thrown in which makes it Delhi’s own unique jersey

Delhi Capitals History:

Delhi team was bought by the property development company GMR Group  for US$84 million.In March 2018, GMR sold a 50% stake in the Delhi Daredevils to  JSW Sports  for ₹550 crore (US$77 million).

In December 2018, the team changed its name from the Delhi Daredevils to the Delhi Capitals. Speaking to the rationale behind changing the team’s name, co-owner and chairman  said,

“Delhi is the power centre of the country, it is the capital, therefore the name Delhi Capitals.The new name symbolizes Delhi’s identity and just like the city, we are aiming to be the centre of all action going forward.”

1 thought on “Delhi Capitals”

  1. Pingback: Kings XI Punjab - CricBlogg

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: